It’s been a while since I last posted an update… we have been b-u-s-y! I don’t have time to catch up everything in this post (but I will try to later), but I did want to let you know about a few things…
Our oldest son Christopher is a really bright child. I’m not saying that just because he is my son; and I’m not just being a “proud father” either. He is really a smart kid. For instance, he ponders about what happens when you die, where babies come from, can do multiplication (he is a kindergartener remember), and loves to sit for hours and either read or listen to me read (we just finished the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia… he hung on the edge of his seat every moment we were reading the book!) So, he is smart… too smart…

We have had company for the last week and it has been very hectic around our house. Laura’s sister and her 4 kids have been visiting and the youngest 2 are best friends (cousins actually) with Christopher. They stay up late, eat together, play together, and, yes, fight constantly. Needless to say keeping them busy and still taking care of the daily chores of life has been a challenge. Well, a few days ago we woke up and after about an hour or so Laura asked Christopher if she had given him his eye drop. He said “Yes, mom… of course you did.” Laura really didn’t remember because we get so very busy. I mean at the time my middle son couldn’t talk because he had bit his tongue so hard he needed Tylenol constantly, my youngest had an earache so we were giving him pain medicine on top of the eye drops he gets in the morning, changing diapers, getting breakfast ready, making coffee, etc, etc… So, she really didn’t remember. No problem… she had given it to him and it is so routine now that we do it without even thinking for Christopher. Drops in the day and drops at night… got it!

Fast forward to two nights ago. Our night-time routine is just as busy. Dinner, show, snack, drink, relax, book, brush teeth, eye drops, sip of water, potty, kisses, hugs, tucking in the bed, (all times 3 with variations for each!) Busy… I’m in the bathroom brushing Kevin’s teeth (as he is screaming and crying because his tongue is really hurting when I do it) and in walks Laura. She asks “Did you already give Christopher his eye drops?” Oops… I didn’t remember… hmmmm. After talking with Christopher… we decided that I did.

Yesterday morning. I’m at work. I get a call from Laura… “Did you give Christopher his eye drops this morning?” No… definitely no… no doubt about it… I didn’t “forget if I did…. I knew that I had not … positively. “No” I answered. “He said you did … just like he has been saying… very convincingly” she tells me. Uh oh…

It seems he has realized that he can play on our business and our splitting of duties to get out of them. We have taken it for granted that he understands how important it really is… and we do ingrain that into him each and every day… but he still doesn’t want to take them (who would?…) Of course, we have had more conversations with him and we explain how dreadfully important they are for him… but, still, I worry… what about when he is a little older and he is doing them himself? We will be watching him do it for a long time, I’m sure. But at some point we’ll be relinquishing those duties to him entirely. Will he understand and commit to making sure they are put in everyday… day and night… without fail? I wonder…

I guess it is true that you can be too smart for your own good. I just hope Christopher isn’t… in this case.

